Home > Misc > India Elected UNSC Non-Permanent Member for 2021-2022

Thursday 18 June 2020

India Elected UNSC Non-Permanent Member for 2021-2022

Keywords: ,

  0 forum post

NEW YORK (TASS) – India along with Ireland, Mexico, and Norway will be non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council in 2021-2022, as follows from the results of Wednesday’s voting at the United Nations General Assembly.

Along with the five permanent members, namely China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, the United Nations Security Council has ten non-permanent members, with five of them being rotated every year. Unlike the five permanent members, they have no right to veto.

The newly elected members will replace Belgium, Germany, the Dominican Republic, Indonesia, and South Africa, while Vietnam, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia, and Estonia will continue for the second year.

India scored 184 votes, Ireland 128, Norway 130 and Mexico 187.

Africa’s delegate will be elected in the runoff voting as neither Kenya nor Djibouti won the necessary number of votes.

Any message or comments?


This forum is moderated before publication: your contribution will only appear after being validated by an administrator.

Who are you?
Your post

To create paragraphs, just leave blank lines.